Bode Named 2022 CFDA American Menswear Designer of the Year

The CFDA on Monday held its annual Fashion Awards at Cipriani South Street at Casa Cipriani in Manhattan. Hosted by Natasha Lyonne, the ceremony honored the industry’s top performers across categories including design, styling, leadership and influence.

Among those who took home titles, Emily Adams Bode Aujla of Bode was named the American Menswear Designer of the Year. Notably, Bode, who founded her luxury namesake label in 2016, also claimed the honorary distinction last year. For 2022, the designer was up against Fear of God’s Jerry Lorenzo, Amiri’s Mike Amiri, Thom Browne and Willy Chavarria.

Additionally, Catherine Holstein for Khaite received the American Womenswear Designer of the Year award. Other nominees in the category included Peter Do, Christopher John Rogers, LaQuan Smith and Gabriela Hearst.

Raul Lopez of Luar won Accessory Designer of the Year, and Elena Velez earned the American Emerging Designer of the Year title. Image architect Law Roach received the CFDA’s first-ever Stylist Award, and industry maverick Patti Wilson won the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Shepphard.

Richard and Laurie Lynn Stark of Chrome Hearts picked up the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, a monumental trophy that goes to those who have made indelible marks on fashion, and the exemplary Fashion Icon Award was given to Lenny Kravitz. In a touching tribute, The Board of Trustee’s Award posthumously honored Virgil Abloh, who died last November.

See the full list of winners below.

CFDA’s 2022 Fashion Icon Award:
Lenny Kravitz

The Board of Trustees Award:
Virgil Abloh

Environmental Sustainability Award:
The United Nations

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert:
Andrew Bolton, Wendy Yu curator in charge, the Metropolitan Museum of Art

American Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Catherine Holstein for Khaite

American Menswear Designer of the Year:
Emily Adams Bode Aujla for Bode

Special Anniversary Award:
Jeffrey Banks

Stylist Award:
Law Roach

American Emerging Designer of the Year:
Elena Velez

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark for Chrome Hearts

Innovation Award:
Kim Kardashian, Co-Founder and CEO Jens Grede, and Founding Partner and Chief Product Officer Emma Grede for Skims

Positive Social Influence Award:
Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William for The House of Slay

American Accessory Designer of the Year:
Raul Lopez for Luar

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard:
Patti Wilson

In more fashion news, Louis Vuitton has released vintage band merch-inspired T-shirts.
Source: Read Full Article