The Teskey Brothers scoop Music Victoria awards

A little more than a decade since finding their own soulful groove and three year's since their acclaimed debut album, Melbourne band the Teskey Brothers dominated last night's Music Victoria awards.

Held at Melbourne's Recital Centre and just days after four victorious hometown shows at the Forum Theatre, the Teskey Brothers from Warrandyte were big winners at the annual awards, scooping up four trophies plus the $10,000 prize that comes with 2019's album of the year for Run Home Slow.

The Teskey Brothers were big winners, taking home four Music Victoria awards including best album for Run Home Slow.Credit:

The Teskey Brothers, who are also hot favourites for the ARIA awards later this month, were named Victoria's best band, best regional/outer suburban act and awarded best song for So Caught Up, adding to their 2017 Music Victoria win for best breakthrough act in the wake of debut album Half Mile Harvest.

Other nominees in this year's best album category were Angie McMahon for Salt, Amyl and the Sniffers' self-titled debut album, Gregor for Silver Drop and On Diamond's self-titled album. Amyl and the Sniffers were also nominated next to the Teskey Brothers for best band along with Cash Savage and the Last Drinks, Tropical F–k Storm and King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard.

"We had a look at the nominees this year and it was an incredible line-up, so to win is such an honour for us," the Teskey Brothers said. "Thanks to everyone at Music Victoria and everyone who voted."

Courtney Barnett, who's won numerous Music Victoria awards since bursting onto the music scene with her 2015 debut album, last night picked up best solo artist for the second consecutive year in a category featuring Sampa the Great, Baker Boy, Angie McMahon and Alex Lahey. Sampa the Great (Sampa Tembo) also had back-to-back wins, taking out best hip-hop act, while perennial favourite Paul Kelly won the best male musician award and Erica Dunn (Palm Springs, Mod Con, Tropical F–k Storm) won for best female musician.

In the 15th year of the awards it was singer-songwriter, drummer and producer G Flip who took out the $5000 Premier's Prize for the best Victorian breakthrough act. It was a category brimming with talent; Gena Rose Bruce, DRMNGNOW (Neil Morris), Gordon Koang and Tones and I, who just cracked 16 weeks atop the ARIA singles chart, were the other nominees. Tones and I took home the outstanding achievement award in a hugely successful year, winning fans both locally and internationally.

Other winners on the night included Sui Zhen in the best electronic act category, Andrea Keller for best jazz album (Transients Vol. 1), Matt Joe Gow for best country album (Break, Rattle and Roll) and First Nations artist Naretha Williams in the best experimental or avant-garde category.

Vika and Linda Bull were popular inductees into Music Victoria’s Hall of Fame.Credit:

Live entertainment on the Recital Centre stage came from Suldusk, who were nominated in the best heavy album category, Grand Salvo and best song nominee Gordon Koang. Music Victoria's 2019 Hall of Fame inductees Vika and Linda Bull closed the evening with a performance of their song When Will You Fall For Me, accompanied by guitarist Mark Seymour, who wrote the song.

Community radio broadcaster PBS FM, which this year celebrates 40 years on the air, was also inducted into the Music Victoria Hall of Fame.

"PBS is delighted to be inducted into the Music Victoria Hall of Fame in our 40th year," said the station's general manager Adrian Basso. "We are very proud of our place in Melbourne’s vibrant music community and thank everyone who has played a part in PBS along the way."


The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Album of 2019
The Teskey Brothers – Run Home Slow
Best Band
The Teskey Brothers
Best Song
The Teskey Brothers – So Caught Up
Best Solo Artist
Courtney Barnett
Best Male Musician
Paul Kelly
Best Female Musician
Erica Dunn (Tropical F— Storm, Palm Springs, MOD CON, Harmony)
The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Breakthrough Act of 2019
G Flip
Best Live Act
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)
Northcote Social Club, Northcote
Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)
Forum, Melbourne

Best Festival
Golden Plains
Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act
The Teskey Brothers
Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year)
Theatre Royal, Castlemaine
Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year)
Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan
Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent – $2,000 Archie Roach Foundation Cash Prize
Key Hoo
Best Blues Album
Opelousas – Opelousified
Best Country Album
Matt Joe Gow – Break, Rattle And Roll
Best Electronic Act
Sui Zhen
Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Act
Naretha Williams
Best Folk or Roots Album
The Maes – The Maes
Best Heavy Album
Suldusk – Lunar Falls
Best Hip Hop Act
Sampa The Great
Best Intercultural Act
Best Jazz Album
Andrea Keller – Transients Vol. 1
Best Reggae and Dancehall Act
Echo Drama
Best Rock/Punk Album
Tropical F— Storm – Braindrops
Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album
Allysha Joy – Acadie: Raw
PBS 106.7FM and Vika & Linda Bull

Source: Read Full Article