Race Across the World will see new contestants trying to win £20,000

Race Across The World series three teased in trailer

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

BBC series Race Across the World will be starting this evening (March 22) on BBC One at 9pm. The show will see five teams setting off from Vancouver, Canada, crossing countries and indeed continents in a race against time with their eye on a big cash prize. The teams will be travelling a total of 16,000 kilometres over six time zones.

They will be going from the edge of the Pacific Ocean and journey around the globe, before finishing on the rugged Atlantic coast in North America’s St John’s Newfoundland.

The teams aren’t allowed to use air travel or modern-day life as part of the series as they embark on the competition.

This means no mobile phones, internet access or credit cards to help them on their travels.

They have to traverse the very edges of civilisation including going through vast prairies, wilderness and great lakes.

Contestants will only have the cash equivalent of the air fare for doing the same journey to help them on their way.

On their journeys, they will be relying on the kindness of strangers and their wits to survive and cross the finish line.

The fastest to make it to the finish line will be walking away with a tidy £20,000.

This year’s teams consist of best friends Cathie and Tricia; brothers Marc and Michael; husband and wife Zainib and Mobeen; and two father and daughter duos – Kevin and Claudia, and Ladi and Monique.

How many episodes are in Race Across the World?

There is a total of nine episodes in the new series of Race Across the World, which will be airing weekly on BBC One.

Each episode will be dropping on the BBC iPlayer following initial broadcast.

Sadly, binge watchers are going to have to be patient as the show won’t be landing as a boxset on the BBC iPlayer.

Nevertheless, if you miss an episode, you can catch up on the BBC iPlayer at a time to suit you.

Here is a list of episodes and air dates:

  • Episode 1 – March 22
  • Episode 2 – March 29
  • Episode 3 – April 5
  • Episode 4 – April 12
  • Episode 5 – April 19
  • Episode 6 – April 26
  • Episode 7 – May 3
  • Episode 8 – May 10
  • Episode 9 – May 17

The opening instalment sees the teams reach seven checkpoints and initially make their way north to Tlell in the Haida Gwaii archipelago.

All of the teams will be facing various challenges as one duo struggles to get out of the starting point.

Another will be getting stranded and another team uses the experience to teach their children about the world.

Crucially, one team might make a major decision which could impact their position in the race.

Don’t miss…
Elaine Paige’s appearance sparks concern on The One Show [LATEST]
Nicola Sturgeon squirms as she’s challenged on resignation [LATEST]
Sally Nugent snaps ‘let me finish’ as she grills Sadiq Khan [LATEST]

While episode two will see the teams heading to the Yukon and the former gold rush town of Dawson City for the next leg of the competition.

There will be travelling over 2,000km as they walk along one of the most isolated highways in the world.

The contestants will be hailing from all over the UK including Essex, Southampton, Devon, South Wales and London.

Fans can also catch up on the previous two seasons of Race Across the World, which are on the BBC iPlayer.

Race Across the World starts on BBC One tonight at 9pm

Source: Read Full Article